Breaking News:  Alewife Cove Conservancy Receives $399,865 grant from Long Island Sound Future Fund!

Alewife Cove Conservancy

Our Mission:

Alewife Cove In The News

Feb. 10, 2023 - State Legislation could give Alewife Cove Conservancy funding to restore the cove  Read More at TheDay...

Aug. 26, 2022 - Waterford High School class is researching Alewife Cove Read More at TheDay...

Jan. 13, 2022 - Celebrate CT's FIRST National Estuarine Research Reserve! Read More at TheDay...

Jan. 28, 2020 - presents Information about Dams on Privately Owned Properties in CT  View VIDEO

Nov. 10, 2019 - Waterford group to remove dam to allow alewives to spawn  Read More...

Nov. 2, 2019 - $187,282 Grant Awarded to Bring the Alewife back to Alewife Cove!  Read More...

Oct. 12, 2019 - 1st Annual Alewife Cove Conservancy Endless Summer FUNdraiser!  Read More...

Oct. 10, 2019 - Bringing alewives back into Alewife Cove . Read More at TheDay...

July 6, 2019 - New London hires firm to undertake watershed management plan  Read More at TheDay...

May 4, 2019 - Niantic's annual Earthfest celebrates the environment  Read More at TheDay...

Who We Are

Community members from the region have long been concerned with the health of Alewife Cove. In 2016 a group established the Alewife Cove Conservancy (ACC) as an official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Our focus was on preserving the ecosystem, particularly in light of the need for dredging and removal of a dam that impedes the spawning of the alewife. In addition, the use of the Cove by residents of all ages, especially students, is a core aspect of our mission. We have a growing membership. 

Edward Lamoureux

Founder and Co-Chairman

Chris Clouet


Rachel Barclay


William Kinsella


Board of Directors:

Edward Lamoureux (Co-Chair)

Christopher Clouet (EdD) (Co-Chair)

Bill Kinsella (Treasurer)

Rachel Barclay (Secretary)

Angela Velilla

Chris Allan MES

Betsy Perkins

Tim Visel

New England Science and Sailing (NESS)

Dave Sugrue

Nancy Parent (PhD)

Louise Fabrykiewicz

Remi Lavergne

Bruce Bowdish (PhD)

Alison Burdick (EdD)

Mike O'Connor